Reader question: What is Submishmash?

One thing about the internet, it sure makes creative use of the alphabet. Those 26 letters get rearranged and combined to make clever company names faster than ever before.

One clever name, Submishmash, is an online submission system you’ll soon encounter. It allows you to submit queries or stories to online magazines in an perfect format. Unlike the dreaded slush pile, Submishmash lets editors view, log, and respond.

Magazines, book publishers and websites use Submishmash to accept pitches and content. They don’t need to waste time downloading anything. They view your submission in a perfect format. Then they track, store, edit, and prepare to publish, all in one online content management system.

I use it to submit essays and articles to magazines and enjoy knowing there will be no formatting glitches or incompatibility problems. Watch for it as an option the next time you submit an article or manuscript.

3 Comments

  1. Dunnie said,

    August 3, 2011 at 4:37 pm

    Helen,

    You really keep me up to date on what is going on in the publishing world. Thanks for educating me.

    Dunnie

  2. Jen said,

    March 3, 2012 at 4:47 am

    I hate submishmash. Firstly I hate the idea that some third party I don’t know can store my files on their system. I also hate not having control over my own submissions. I have had no success with submishmash, and plenty via oridinary email to editors. Submishmash is owned/run by writers apparently – and call me paranoid but that gives me reason to be suspicious. Why should I trust that the owners of submishmash will delete my files from their system. It irritates me that magazines are adopting this system in favour of a more personal approach to submitting. This system acts like a filter; it puts an impersonal wall between us the writers and the editors.

    Who owns submishmash really? What gives them the right to assume control of so many magazine submissions? I do not want a third party intervention acting on my behalf on the internet in this way. I wish editors would stop using this dubious system.

    • March 4, 2012 at 10:15 am

      Thanks, Jenny – You raise some good points. Do others have concerns about Submishmash? Let me know if you do.
      Helen


Leave a Reply

