Blog strategies for fiction writers

Jane Friedman of Writer’s Digest is a power blogger, and has advice for fiction writers on whether there is a place for them among bloggers. Most blogs seem reality based, and succeed through good writing and information sharing.

How does a fiction writer create a ‘voice’ for a blog? Friedman suggests a fiction writer can serialize work, share information related to your book’s story, or write book reviews and articles to spur interest.

Last summer, I was a Curator of the Week at SheWrites.com recently and enjoyed viewing the members’ blogs. I chose three gems, and one, diary of a heretic.com, was a perfect example of what a fiction writer can do with a blog.  Author,  Kathleen Maher writes captivating short fiction.

Take a look, get inspired, and we hope to see you blogging here soon.

3 Comments

  1. May 22, 2010 at 8:01 am

    My agent signed me three years ago on the condition I start and maintain a blog. He said it was not possible to be a successful fiction writer in the digital age without one.

    My book, “The Mandolin Case,” is due out in June.

    Dr. B

  2. May 22, 2010 at 2:21 pm

    Jane, Thank you so much for choosing my blog as an example for fiction bloggers! I have found blogging a boon for my writing in many ways. I started when I fell into a kind of writer’s block where I was rewriting the same 10 pages for weeks.
    The serial format has also forced me to keep my plots moving. To keep readers reading, I’ve learned a fiction post should not run past 700 words.
    Knowing that people will read what I’m writing (at least a few people) helps in so many ways.


Leave a Reply

